Need help.. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 01-11-2017, 03:02 PM Thread Starter

View kbatdorf22's Photo Album My Photos
Need help..

I live in Montana and have access to all the free wood from early 1900s homesteads i can dream of. Came across an awesome door from an old grainery. Wondering what I should consider selling for? I'm new to the game and would hate to give it away for too cheap. Pricing is not my strong point. PLEASE HELP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-11-2017, 04:36 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Assume you are the buyer, not the seller...

Where would you look for old barnwood, rustic planks, reclaimed doors etc? Go through those sources and get a feel for what those suppliers are asking and for what type of materials. The market in rural Montana will be drastically different than in urban cities like Detroit, Chicago or smaller cities around the country where folks are using reclaimed wood for decorative panels and interiors.

There are architectural salvage places around the country and they will have old doors. Flea markets around here have been known to have an old door or two or a table made from one....
The market will determine the "value". In my case, I advertised barnwood for sale and I had a pickup truck full. It was all sold in 2 days.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specfic. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo
post #3 of 6 Old 01-11-2017, 06:51 PM
Can still count to 10 yea

View darins's Photo Album My Photos
woodnthings kind of touched on it, where in Big Sky Country are you? I'm betting the market in Conrad or Choteau is drastically different than Billings or Bozeman. Location will definitely play a factor in price.

Rule #7 Always be specific when you lie.
post #4 of 6 Old 01-12-2017, 10:13 AM

View Pineknot_86's Photo Album My Photos