Live Oak Wood - Good or No Good - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 09-19-2008, 11:19 AM Thread Starter

View seasidcut's Photo Album My Photos
Live Oak Wood - Good or No Good

A few years back a hurricane knocked down a live oak tree. I was able to salvage a nice log from it. I was wondering if anyone has ever used this type of wood to build anything.

I am also wondering if River Birch can be used for anything? I have a few logs from a birch tree as well.

With two back to back hurricanes hitting Louisiana and Texas the roadside is littered with trees. Here is a question, would you stop and pick up large oak tree trunks stacked on the side of the road? I have seen tree's chopped up into moveable pieces with at times a 36" diameter or larger trunks.

As a woodworker I find myslef wanting to grab all the free wood I can. What would you do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-19-2008, 11:36 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by seasidcut View Post
A few years back a hurricane knocked down a live oak tree. I was able to salvage a nice log from it.

I am also wondering if River Birch can be used for anything? I have a few logs from a birch tree as well.

As a woodworker I find myslef wanting to grab all the free wood I can. What would you do?
Live oak is very hard ("Old Iron sides", the USS Constitution was planked with live oak, enemy cannon balls just bounced off. That is how it got it's nickname)

River birch can be crooked and knotty, but if the logs look good go for it.

What would I do grab all the free wood I could
post #3 of 7 Old 09-19-2008, 12:26 PM

Location: Full time cruising on my boat. Currently on the Little Tenn. River (Tellico Lake) near Knoxville
View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
I dont know anything about river birch