Woodworking Talk banner

Levelling a Stump

3K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  Tamason28 
#1 ·
Hi, Everyone. I am making a table with a tree stump as a pedestal, but I can't seem to get the bottom of the stump level to save my life. No matter what I do, the thing is unstable - it rocks back and forth when I push on it. I don't have any big power tools, so I've been using a small spokeshave, a card scraper, and sandpaper to try to even it out. Does anyone have any ideas how I can get the stump to sit evenly? I'm new to woodworking, so I can use all the help I can get!

#3 ·
With limited tools perhaps just add feet to it so you have to only work on them to get it to sit solidly. They can be be very shallow and will not be really noticeable, the shape of the trunk may determine how many you use, three will be self leveling but will tip easily.

#5 ·
Adjustable feet. Appliance feet.

If that stump isn't fully dry (below 10% moisture content) it's going to move anyways later.
Even if it is below 10% humidity changes will effect it.
It's just the nature of gnarly wood.
In other words, you don't have a choice.

Next, if that stump isn't bone dried (less than 2%ish) or kiln dried to 130 degrees for many days you can have bug issues.
(not good)
Trust that this kind of wood isn't to be taken lightly about critters.

#6 · (Edited)
Agreed with the adjustable feet and you can buy them cheap at big orange and blue. Then it's just a matter of having a drill a hammer and the ability to turn the feet by hand which you very likely have.
Available at home depot for under $2

Reactions: LcoyoteS
#7 ·
How big is the stump?
I like the suggestion to add feet. With just 3, it can't wobble. Add a fourth and the adjustment will still be quickly done.

The other advantage is to get the base of the stump up off the floor or ground or whatever.
Otherwise, some wood moisture will be trapped under the stump. Most times go moldy, too