How to Prevent Router Burning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 07-18-2011, 07:51 PM Thread Starter

View BarclayWood's Photo Album My Photos
How to Prevent Router Burning

Hello all. I got a new Hitachi KM12VC router last week and this is my first run with it. Actually, this is my first run with a router ever! I am using a flush trim router bit (from MLCS) to try and repair some mistakes I made in building a desk. First I need to smooth out the edging pieces. They were previously glued on - I sawed them off to start over and they are a little uneven due to that. I need them to be flush to re-attach to the tabletop.

Since I'm new to routers, I'm not sure what's causing 2 things: burning and grooves. The burning I think is caused by the shaft below the cutter. I had to extend the bit pretty low to place the bearing on the surface I wanted, and I think the shaft below the cutter was causing the burning. The grooves I'm not so sure about. I'm not sure if that's the right term. My routing seemed to go in waves, there are crests and troughs instead of a flat surface. Here are some pictures below to show what I'm talking about.

[IMG][/IMG]

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 07-18-2011, 08:56 PM
In History is the Future

View firemedic's Photo Album My Photos
I don't see any pictures... I'm sure I can help ya with a few decent pics...

~tom ...it's better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt...
post #3 of 22 Old 07-18-2011, 08:59 PM

View Brink's Photo Album My Photos
Looks like the shank of the bit was rubbing the wood. I can see some build up un the shank.
post #4 of 22 Old 07-18-2011, 09:13 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Yup !
You are using that combination in a manner in which it was not intended. The bearing is meant to ride on a templet or a finished surface to flush trim a thickness that fits within the cutter to the same profile or dimension.