How can I avoid splinters on table top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 03-19-2017, 03:49 PM Thread Starter

View WoodWorkinghelp101's Photo Album My Photos
Red face How can I avoid splinters on table top

Howdy,
Long time reader first time poster.
I'm new to woodworking and are making my second coffee table. It's going to be 3 large recycled stringy-bark wharf beams. I have dressed them and sanded them back, I'm happy with how they are looking but are concerned about people getting splinters if the run their hands across the surface.
The plan was to finish it with Tang oil and some Gilly Stephenson's timber polish (bees wax). Is there anything I can do to stop splinters happening, the sanding has stopped most of them but I think there could still be a few.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 03-19-2017, 06:29 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
On the spot you are showing I would be inclined to mix some bondo the almost black brown it is and fill it. There also clear epoxy fillers you could use. Just mask off the surrounding wood, fill it and sand it smooth. The tung oil should be enough to bring the sheen back.
post #3 of 4 Old 03-19-2017, 07:28 PM

View kentucky tom's Photo Album My Photos
I've used clear epoxy and then some colorant to mimic the grain pattern. Mix some colorants with some epoxy on the side to use as accents , blend some additional epoxy tinted to be the base color, pour this mix into the cervix,. Then using the other color mix to accent grain pattern. Tom

post #4 of 4 Old 03-20-2017, 01:46 AM
Timber Wright-Guide

View Jay C. White Cloud's Photo Album My Photos
Hi WoodWorkinghelp101,