Finishing with tung oil and paste wax - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 12-01-2010, 02:47 PM Thread Starter

View nijabhaava's Photo Album My Photos
Finishing with tung oil and paste wax

Hi,

I'm new to woodworking and needed some help.

I took a class over the weekend and we made a box, but have to finish it ourselves.

Its made out of quilted maple and has ebony splines in it.

I sanded down the rough edges and rounded them off. I am quite happy with the result.

A couple of things though:

1) the ebony splines leave some fine black sawdust that only spreads with the sandpaper onto the maple. How do I get this stuff off before I finish it?

2) On one part of the box, there appears to be what I can only call 'razor burn' on the wood. The saw that was used to cut it looks like it glazed that part up. How do I get rid of it?

3) What is the maximum thickness of sandpaper I should use before I put the tung oil so that I don't 'close the pores up' too much?

4) How many coats of tung oil do I put - how long do I wait between each coat, and how many layers of paste wax and how long between each? Tung oil is just applied with a rag - how do I apply the wax?

I was also alternatively thinking of using laquer. Can I use it with the tung oil? Do I still use the paste wax?

I don't want too glossy a finish, and don't want a visible, thick coat of anything on top of the wood. I have seem some finishes that look like they are laminated in a fine, transparent plastic - but obviously were just finished with something. I don't want this, I want to bring out all the character of the wood, deepen the tone, protect the wood somewhat, and perhaps have a slightly waxy/matt finishes for protection.

Thanks

Last edited by nijabhaava; 12-01-2010 at 02:50 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 12-01-2010, 03:07 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by nijabhaava View Post