Extreme angles on table saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 10-18-2011, 02:32 PM Thread Starter

View micahfaulkner75's Photo Album My Photos
Extreme angles on table saw

Hello, all! I'm new to the world of woodworking: did some shop class stuff and Boy Scouts, but otherwise, not much.

My friend and I have been working on putting together a coffin for Halloween. To do this, we've found that getting the miters of the side planks to meet up is really tricky: the angles are extreme (12 deg., 56 deg., etc).

Of course, the table saw will slant, but only to 45. For some cuts, we can simply use the complimentary angle and run it through the other side. On others, though, no solution is obvious. We ended up building up a second piece of wood to raise the angle of the wood being ripped (dangerous).

So, what's the right way to do this? How do you cut extreme angles on large boards?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 10-18-2011, 03:12 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
angles, miters and bevels

The angle of a miter or bevel is a number...12 degrees, 56 degrees.
A miter is essentially a crosscut, usually at a 45 degree angle. but not necessarily.
A bevel is a continuous cut like a rip, generally using the fence on the away side of the bevel as a guide. Any bevel greater than 45 degrees must be made with the workpiece showface up on the table and will be the compliment of the saw setting. 90 - 56= 34 degrees. Depending on the length of the bevel you can use the fence or the miter gauge.
I wouldn't add separate pieces to build up heights to make the bevels, as you said it's potentially dangerous. bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specfic. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo
The Following User Says Thank You to woodnthings For This Useful Post:
micahfaulkner75 (10-18-2011)