Woodworking Talk banner

Capping oak steps - need advice

18K views 137 replies 13 participants last post by  JIMMIEM 
#1 ·
I am new to this level of repair work though I have done a fair amount of plumbing and electrical work among other things. I have tools either new or accumulated over the years including a 10" radial arm saw, reciprocating saw, jig saw, various types of sanders, and hand tools. I am open to purchasing other tools as necessary for this and future projects (flooring).

the steps in my home are in need of repair. I started this project with the hope of refinishing them but it would appear they are beyond that. The two alternatives I have found so far that appeal to me are the Cap-A-Tread product from Home Depot and the NuStair product. The Cap-A-Tread is a laminate that simply caps the tread and wraps around the existing bullnose. It's very appealing but there is no support and no samples. It is a mail order only product and I'm uncomfortable with the lack of knowledge anyone at Home Depot has about the product.

The NuStair product is all red oak hardwood an 3/8" or 5/8" thick. It's made from three sections plus an attached scotia bullnose that is designed to overlap the existing bullnose. I prefer the hardwood approach but it means a lot more work as I will explain and then my questions.

The bullnose on my existing treads are 1 3/8" long and the scotia bullnose on the NuStair would add another 1 1/2". That length would cause the bottom tread to protrude beyond the front of the side rail which is problematic. It seems to me that the best way to install these caps is to remove the bullnose. If I do that on the bottom step I would need to do the same on all the steps. An almost 3' overhang would be a tripping hazard on all the steps in any event.

If you got this far, thanks. My questions are:

• What type of circular saw blade would be best to rip the bullnose? I was looking at a 40 ATB Diablo.