Beginner question about woodturning glue up - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-15-2017, 05:20 PM Thread Starter

View jp887's Photo Album My Photos
Beginner question about woodturning glue up

Hi. I'm really new to woodturning and I have only ever turned small items like small bowls etc. Now I want to make plant stand that needs to be about 1.1m high.
I'm finding it hard to source a spindle blank that long. My question is, can I glue 2 shorter spindle blanks together length ways to make an extra long spindle blank before turning?
I could drill a recess into the end of one blank and turn the end of the other blank down to a smaller diameter to make a round mortise and tenon joint before gluing.
Would this be strong enough to turn safely or would I be better to turn the 2 spindles individually and then glue them after turning?

Sorry for the newbie question! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-15-2017, 05:37 PM

View Catpower's Photo Album My Photos
I wouldn't do it, end grain doesn't glue up very strong and as you turn it down it will lose more strength
post #3 of 8 Old 02-15-2017, 05:46 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
End grain joints don't glue well, my bet is if you tried gluing 2 shorter blanks together like you described, they'd turn into shrapnel as soon as you got near the joint with a chisel. You might be able to finger joint 2 pieces together, but personally I'd just find a long enough blank

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail

post #4 of 8 Old 02-15-2017, 05:47 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
You won't be able to glue the wood together end to end for what you are doing. If say you were making a turning blank that was 4 1/2" square you could use six layers of 3/4" wood staggering the joints. It might have the appearance of a butcher block but it should be safe enough to turn.
post #5 of 8 Old 02-15-2017, 05:47 PM Thread Starter