Aspen wood for furniture ? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 10-06-2007, 05:58 PM Thread Starter

View nywoodwizard's Photo Album My Photos
Aspen wood for furniture ?

I have to build a make up vanity ,any thoughts on using aspen? I've never used it before but it looks suitable for what i need it for.The project will be painted (sprayed of course).I'm also looking for some advise on choosing a good sprayable paint (not my specialty)and some techniques.Seems i can build better than i can finish.The design is usually the hardest,it must be simple but slightly elegant. Customer also requested some hidden compartments,which is dictating some of the design.I also have to build a matching frame that will be hung on the wall. I don't build much furniture but enjoy the challenge when it comes. I'll start sketching up something tonight.

"You must become one with the wood grass hopper"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-06-2007, 08:51 PM

View seawolf21's Photo Album My Photos
Aspen?

I use aspen very sparingly because it is a fuzzy wood. I usually use it for small objects like toys. When I resaw it on my bandsaw, the cut side is fuzzy and needs alot of sanding. I don't know how it looks when done on a tablesaw. I would try a piece first before you make any furniture with it.

Gary
post #3 of 7 Old 10-06-2007, 09:57 PM

View Jim@jlazy3's Photo Album My Photos