Woodworking Talk banner

5/8 drawer material.. buy or make?

22K views 32 replies 10 participants last post by  Rebelwork 
#1 ·
I'm pretty new at this, so I still have goofy questions...

When it comes to making drawers, I see a lot of 5/8 hardwood is used.

I live in a sort of rural area.. I have a home depot near me, but they don't sell 5/8.

So here's the question.. do you BUY 5/8 material, or do you make 5/8 from 3/4 inch stock?

Or do you say to heck with that and use 1/2 inch ply wood instead?

Or ... ?

#2 ·
Plasma,
You do not say what your project is and the project will dictate the materials choice.
For kitchen and baths, a 1/2" drawer can be used. For a dresser or wide drawer 5/8" or more might be preferred.
A high quality no voids Birch plywood makes very good drawers. Route the top edge of the drawer sides with a round over bit for a better look.
Solid drawer sides are used when you don't want to see the plys on the edge. They are no stronger.

#4 ·
I choose/use the best material for the application. if it is a utilitarian drawer (in the shop, basement, otherwise don't care what it looks like) I use 1/2" ply.

everywhere else I use 1/2" or 5/8" beech, or other hardwood. I plane 3/4" down to thickness for that job. that's just me.

#5 ·
I don't think I've ever seen a drawer box made out of 5/8" material. The drawers I see run between 3/8" and 1/2", mostly 1/2". For cabinets I use 1/2" baltic birch plywood. Furniture I generally surface 3/4" wood to 1/2" thick. It's really the main reason I bought a planer in the first place is to surface drawer siding.

#10 ·
#9 ·
I tried using a dovetail jig on 1/2 ply... that was a no go for sure.

I made a bunch of drawers for my miter saw station today, tried a lock rabbit.. that turned out terrible.

Started over and just butt jointed the stuff together with 18 gauge nails and glue... that worked.. but of course it's not nice looking, but it's garage stuff.