Taper jig for long cuts - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-10-2008, 06:49 AM Thread Starter

View pete lynch's Photo Album My Photos
Taper jig for long cuts

Hi, everybody.
This is my 1st post here. I have been doing carpentry for over 30 years but Iím always looking for new ideas.

Has anyone ever come up with an idea for a taper jig that will work with longer pieces of window jamb stock, like 60Ē or more? I donít have a home shop (so no place to plan out a proper jig) and I use a piece of plywood and screw the jamb piece to plywood to get the taper I need. This does the job but leaves holes to fill and takes time to set up.

The reason I need to cut window jamb extensions on a taper is that my company has been using the Tyvek window wrap system and it leaves the window out a little bit farther on the bottom than the top, thus creating the need for a tapered jamb ext.

I have seen some good shop-built jigs on the web but they are mostly for table legs and furniture pieces.

I welcome any ideas and will share any I come up with.
TIA
pete lynch

FYI: I recently posted the above at lumberjocks.com forum. Just asking as many knowledgeable folks as I can.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-10-2008, 02:19 PM
Pianoman

View pianoman's Photo Album My Photos