Table saw, planer, and jointer on a budget - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 10-31-2008, 01:56 AM Thread Starter
Tank

View kyumanaz@msn.com's Photo Album My Photos
Question Table saw, planer, and jointer on a budget

I am a disabled veteran, trying to supoport a family of 5, and set up a shop. I am looking to spend under $1,000 on a tablesaw, and want to stay under $1,000 for the jointer and planer combined. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 10-31-2008, 02:31 AM
Nobody

View BHOFM's Photo Album My Photos
That shouldn't be a problem.

What are you going to be doing? Building?

Is this to make extra money or hobby?

A trip to Lowes is the place to start.

Makita table saw, Delta planer and jointer, pretty good
stuff and all should be less than a grand.
post #3 of 19 Old 10-31-2008, 06:34 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
You should be able to purchase all the above for a lot less that a total of $2000.

As BHOFM asked, what are you planning to do? If this is how you are going to be making your living than you may want to use one set of criteria. If this is going to be for home projects than other factors may be used.

Personally, I would go into Sears and look at the Craftsman tools. All of my larger, and most smaller, power tools are Craftsman and I am very pleased. Lowes and Home Depot (HD) can also outfit you for under $2000.

Good luck and welcome aboard. What branch of the service were you in? I am retired Air Force.

George
post #4 of 19 Old 10-31-2008, 09:00 AM
No Longer Here

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
You should be able to squeeze a router or maybe a dust collector into your budget for that price if you're careful. Lowes, HD, Sears, or even Grizzly can set you up if you time the sales right. Buying used is another viable option to maximize your purchase power.