Paste Wax for TS Top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 02-15-2017, 01:58 PM Thread Starter

View arvanlaar's Photo Album My Photos
Paste Wax for TS Top

Hey folks,

I have read that I can use a paste wax for my cast iron top of my table saw to help prevent rust. Almost everything I have read says to use SC Johnson paste wax for floors. I don't have any of that around here. Can I use another paste wax meant for floors like Minwax paste wax? Here is a link to the product in question. https://www.minwax.ca/wood-products/...-finishing-wax

Let me know what you think.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-15-2017, 02:05 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
I think the Minwax paste wax is about the same as Johnson's. I've been using wax on machinery for more than 40 years. It helps prevent rust and also makes for a lot less friction to run wood over the equipment. I normally apply the wax with a scotchbrite pad and then wipe off the excess with a clean dry cloth. You don't want to leave enough wax on the surface to get into the wood and cause problems with finishing.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
arvanlaar (02-15-2017)
post #3 of 13 Old 02-16-2017, 08:51 AM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos
Great advice from Steve! Also be certain that all surfaces are clean and dry before you apply any paste wax. Once you have a good coat of wax on your TS, it may be easier to prevent most other rust problems. A hardware store may have Johnsons paste wax. Be safe.

post #4 of 13 Old 02-16-2017, 01:07 PM
The village amadán.

View Mr Mac's Photo Album My Photos
Lowe's or HD both carry Johnson's.

But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. James 3:17
post #5 of 13 Old 02-16-2017, 04:10 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos