Opinions on a Toolkraft 452/453? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 Old 01-11-2008, 04:02 AM Thread Starter
Ray Waldo
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
View Radius's Photo Album My Photos
Opinions on a Toolkraft 452/453?

Have the opportunity to purchase a Toolkraft 452/453 with the floor stand, and as I am quite unfamiliar with the machine, I thought I would ask here for opinions. In pictures it looks fine, but I wondered what I should look for, or if I should even look at all? I see its primary use being as a drill press, as that's what I need, but am I better off spending the money on a new drill press, and avoid this all-in-wonder, or would it be a strong addition?

Thanks!

Ray~
Radius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 02-03-2008, 02:33 AM
DHP
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 4
View DHP's Photo Album My Photos
Opinions on a Toolkraft 452/453?

>Have the opportunity to purchase a
>Toolkraft 452/453 with the floor stand...

I have the bench top version of this drill press. Same head, shorter column. I have had it for about 8 yrs. It's a decent machine. Variable speed DC motor control and very long six inch travel to the quill. The head rotates and has a high-speed router collet on the top that you can turn over for routing. I have done that a few times and it is OK for some things but a bit scary for most with the workpiece between the small table and the cutter. As a drill press it's pretty good and probably on par with higher-end Craftsman presses of the same vintage. The 6" travel is a plus and mine has been pretty stable after some initial adjustment. The entire motor assembly rides up/down on sort of small dovetail ways. The table is pretty true but there is no lift so you have to muscle it into place. I don't find that I move it too often.

Toolkraft is still in business for parts and when I got this machine I was able to get a manual, spare brush set, a replacement feed handle, and a mortising chisel attachment. Toolkraft still has a web site and you may still be able to get parts for this machine.
http://www.toolkraft.com/

I may sell mine soon because I just got a Bridgeport mill and this will be redundant and probably get little use.

DHP
Euclid, OH
DHP is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need opinions on wood lathe Eugene In NC Woodturning 8 10-26-2008 11:30 PM
Opinions wanted smitty1967 Power Tools & Machinery 15 06-26-2008 11:02 AM
opinions on this dado cut Dvoigt General Woodworking Discussion 7 06-18-2008 07:47 PM
Hutch Design opinions BigHUGE201 Design & Plans 6 05-15-2008 08:22 PM
Opinions for best choice of tools johnjf0622 Power Tools & Machinery 7 02-11-2008 02:04 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome