Woodworking Talk banner

Justify router lift

4K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  mendozer 
#1 ·
I have a Bosch 1617 and it came with fixed and plunge base. I just got my Bench Dog router table wing in and am deciding how to mount my router to it. I could get the fixed table mount which has the rotary dial as well as the long wrench for above table adjustments...or get a JessEm router lift. My question is...

Is the only advantage to the lift quicker adjustments? This is my first time using a router so whatever height adjustments I may need to make can be done without fancy equipment I assume. Unless the router lift extends the amount of rise I get out of it?

#2 · (Edited)
Go with the jessem lift. It's so much stronger and very easy to adjust.

It's a major PIA to adjust a router table from underneath. When you are dialing in the cut, it normally takes a couple of adjustments to get there...

That Jessem is built like a tank. It won't flex during the cut, nor will it creep at all.

Routers are heavy enough, and in a table you are working against gravity. It's difficult to make 1/32" or smaller adjustments without a lift.

Follow me on Instagram:
"@amanteafinewoodworks"

#4 ·
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Bosch-Ta...6XJOK_cjjRf9CvmbrHrycaAnot8P8HAQ&gclsrc=aw.ds

this is the table mount I mean if I don't get a lift. Looks like the benchdog plate I have won't be compatible and I need to buy either the router lift FX or the mast-r-lift II. The rout-r-lift doesn't have the 8 1/4" size. $300 is more than I want to spend for this.

I mean what's it REALLY going to do that much better for me?

#5 · (Edited)
This router lift will fit the Bench Dog table below:
https://www.amazon.com/Incra-Master...rd_wg=KWaW3&psc=1&refRID=CD0P234JY8KQX1YV3ZH1

Its the same as the Jessem Mast R Lift 2.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Bosch-Tab...Q&gclsrc=aw.ds