Delta Table Saw Motor Problem - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 85
View Redrox007's Photo Album My Photos
Delta Table Saw Motor Problem

Hi All,

I have a Delta "Industrial" hybrid table saw with a 1 3/4 hp motor that I bought at Home Depot about 3 years ago. In the last week or so I have been having real problems with it and I'm hoping someone might have some advice or solutions.

The issue is that when I turn it on, the saw only gets up to about to about 1/2 speed and then after about 8 seconds trips the circuit on my panel. I have plugged it into different plugs in my shop on different circuits and the same thing happens.

The motor is very heavy and the belt is held in place by the weight of the motor. I've tried the reset button on the motor itself when turning on the main power but I can't seem to get it to work.


Does anyone out there have any ideas? Could it have something to do with the brushes? To even pull the motor out of the cabinet is a large job due to the weight and the inability to get maneouver around inside the cabinet. I was hoping that for the cost of this machine the motor would have lasted longer than 3 years!

Any ideas or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much, love the forum, has been very helpful over the years!

RJJ
Redrox007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 01:17 PM
Scotty D
 
mdntrdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IL.
Posts: 4,425
View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
I would pull the motor and take it to a repair shop.

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
mdntrdr is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 85
View Redrox007's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdntrdr View Post
I would pull the motor and take it to a repair shop.
is there anything I can do to check it myself? do you know how to check the brushes?

thx
Redrox007 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 01:44 PM
Scotty D
 
mdntrdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IL.
Posts: 4,425
View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrox007 View Post
is there anything I can do to check it myself? do you know how to check the brushes?

thx

I have no idea what motor you have.

My guess is... it doesn't have brushes.

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
mdntrdr is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 02:16 PM
A_shop_and_a_Vette
 
xphnmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 203
View xphnmn's Photo Album My Photos
+1 on pulling the motor. While I agree the motor should have lasted more ths 3 years the only other suggestion would be to first pull the belts (there may be more than one) and try running the motor with out the belt(s) to see if maybe there may be some binding in the arbor assembly. Not very likely, but possible. I would think the belt(s) would squeal if there were a problem in the arbor assembly. But you never know. I've stalled the blade on my saw with no belt squeal.
xphnmn is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 85
View Redrox007's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdntrdr

I have no idea what motor you have.

My guess is... it doesn't have brushes.
How do you tell if it does or it doesn't?
Redrox007 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 02:32 PM
A_shop_and_a_Vette
 
xphnmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 203
View xphnmn's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrox007 View Post
How do you tell if it does or it doesn't?
Universal motors have brushes. Induction motors don't. The motor plate on yours will tell you which type it is.
xphnmn is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 02:34 PM
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,465
View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
It should be a belt drive induction motor if it's a full size cast iron saw. If it screams like a circular saw when it runs, it's a universal motor. If it's quiet and smooth, it's an induction motor.

If it's an induction motor, it could be one of the capacitors or the centrifugal switch. The caps are housed in the protruding "cans" on the outside of the motor housing...it's very easy to remove the screws and take a look at the caps. If one is bad you'll see obvious signs of scorching or exploding....they're cheap and easy to replace. If it's not the caps, it's worth the effort to try and get at the centrifugal switch at the fan end of the motor. You may have to remove the fan to get at it, but it works a little like a friction clutch and sometimes gets stuck....spray it down with WD40 and poke at it gently with a screw driver to see if it'll unstick.

An induction motor will look something like this (the caps are at the top of this motor):

Last edited by knotscott; 05-04-2011 at 03:09 PM.
knotscott is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 02:38 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 19,516
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Look on the end

The end opposite the pulley or blade will have 2 insulated screws or plastic caps each on opposite sides of the motor housing. You remove the caps by unscrewing them and behind them are the brushes, usually square or rectangular black carbon sticks spring loaded, about 1/4" or so. bill
FYI- Brushes are found most often on AC/DC hand held power tools like circ saws, routers and drills and on some low cost direct drive table saws. They are not used on larger stationary power tools, table saws, jointers, and planers .

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specfic. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo
woodnthings is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-05-2011, 02:05 PM
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,465
View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
Question

Have you made any progress RJJ?
knotscott is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 05-05-2011, 10:09 PM
Old Methane Gas Cloud
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 3,500
View rrich's Photo Album My Photos
I would guess the capacitor needs to be replaced.

Use the right tool for the job.

Rich (Tilting right)
Huntington Beach, California
Remember that when we have the "BIG ONE" everything east of the Rockies falls into the ocean.
rrich is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-07-2011, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 85
View Redrox007's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by knotscott
Have you made any progress RJJ?
Hi,

I did take the belt off and ran the motor without the belt attached. Motor ran fine so I cleaned the arbor and made sure the axle that spins the blade was fine. The pulley on the blade axle seemed very close to the edge so I moved it closer to the blade with the nut on the threaded axle.

Put everything back together and ran the saw for about 60 seconds. Everything worked great. I lubed everything up and ran the saw for another minute or so. Ran perfect.

That was Friday. Saturday I went back in the shop and turned on the saw. Same thing -- motor got to half power then cut out after 8 seconds.

I'm at a loss. Any ideas?

Thanks guys -- most appreciated.

RJJ
Redrox007 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-07-2011, 09:34 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 19,516
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
loose connection or bad capacitor

Somethings not making a permanent connection. Could also be the starting switch, a rotary gizmo inside on the arbor shaft. Had a similar problem on a Grizzly 3 hp motor, bent the contacts while plugging the thing in until it stayed on. Dust and crud didn't help either. Make sure all the wiring connectors are snug.... bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specfic. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo
woodnthings is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta 36-670 (aka 36-649) motor wiring Q johnnyb Power Tools & Machinery 19 07-14-2015 08:42 AM
Radial Arm Saw Motor Problem Napes1 Power Tools & Machinery 10 03-25-2011 02:55 PM
Motor problem Longknife Power Tools & Machinery 5 01-10-2011 09:59 AM
Delta Bandsaw motor upgrade question johnpemberton Power Tools & Machinery 3 11-14-2010 11:09 PM
Delta 34-740 TS / replacing motor advice please duncsuss Power Tools & Machinery 18 08-24-2009 04:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome