Best "Combination" 10" Table Saw Blade? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 04-20-2010, 09:54 PM Thread Starter

View 1SOW's Photo Album My Photos
Best "Combination" 10" Table Saw Blade?

Hello.

I'm a home DIYer and woodworker. I have the basic table saw, router table, disc and several other sanders, scroll saw and hand tools. I've worked with wood since the 70's.

This is my first post, and I apologize for starting with a question.

I'm shopping for a new 10" tablesaw combination blade. My past experience has been with the traditional 50 tooth ATBR blades.

The Freud site lists a 10" 'combination' rip/crosscut that is a 40 tooth ATB. In addition to clean crosscuts, they claim it will rip deeper and give glue-ready joints. Cost is about $100 and more than the old style combo costs.

Is anyone familiar with this blade or have any recommendations for a good combo blade?

Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions.

I

Last edited by 1SOW; 04-20-2010 at 10:30 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-20-2010, 10:16 PM

View mwhals's Photo Album My Photos
Check out a Forrest Woodworker II 10-Inch 40 Tooth ATB, which is one of the best.

http://www.amazon.com/Forrest-WW10407125-Woodworker-10-Inch-8-Inch/dp/B0000223VQ
Mark
post #3 of 8 Old 04-20-2010, 10:29 PM Thread Starter

mwhals: Thanks. That blade is configured similarly to the Freud.

Freud's teeth are advertised as shapened on the sides as well as the tips. They 'say' this prevents plywood splintering on cross-cuts and gives smooth glue-ready rips.

I'm hoping someone here has tried this blade and can pass on their experience.
post #4 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 12:36 AM

View Colt W. Knight's Photo Album My Photos
Diablo 40 tooth blade available from home depot.
post #5 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 09:24 AM
No Longer Here

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
Thumbs up