6" Portable Jointer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-07-2009, 04:29 PM Thread Starter

View mi77915's Photo Album My Photos
6" Portable Jointer

Since I have been back into this great hobby of woodworking (only 6 months or so now), I have been upgrading some of my old tools that I have had for at least 20 to 25 years and some DO need to be replaced (I used to do a lot of wood working in the past).

Well, it is time to get myself a small bench jointer (limited space). This will be the first one that I have owned. In the past, I would simply take the wood that I needed to have edges jointed to my fathers house where he has an extensive shop filled with Grizzly tools (and some others). I can't do this anymore because I have since relocated to another state.

I have come across these (2) candidates:

https://www.nationwidetool.com/store...ter-jt160.aspx

http://grizzly.com/products/6-x-24-B...-Jointer/G0612

They appear to be similar in price, but the Delta has a slightly longer table and variable speed. Do any of you have any experience with either of these jointers?

The one my father has is a much larger Grizzly jointer, he has had good luck with his.

Thank you,

Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-07-2009, 06:08 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Since you had some prior experience

Then I'm sure that you will understand that the longer the jointer bed the more accurate the cut. Plain and simple, in this case there is no substitue for length. The jointer is one of the tools that requires some length, but minimal width so maybe you can squeeze in a larger/longer machine. You will not regret it in the future. What do I know I only have 3 of them? Two 6" Craftsmans and a Mini-Max 13" and I use the 6" the most. JMA= just my advice. bill
You might consider this one: http://grizzly.com/outlet/6-Jointer/T20835