Woodworking Talk banner

Need help restoring old plane

2K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  gornarak 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi! First time poster here.

So I'm pretty new to woodworking in general and have been acquiring all my tools for cheap on Ebay and Craigslist and the such restoring pieces as I go. Well I was looking at the old transitional planes and thought they looked pretty neat so I thought I would give one a try.

I bought this Sargent 3420 for a steal, and besides the fact that they painted over the metal with silver paint (who knows why?) its in really great condition actually. The bottom is still smooth and well maintained. The blade is original and with the exception of minor surface rust, its still sharp from the previous owner. Everything seems almost too good to be true. Except for one thing.

Its missing its adjuster thread and bolt for the blade. I have a spare frog (I picked up to fix this one) off another plane that was destroyed but it still has the thread and bolt. I just figured I would take it off and put it on the Sargent. One tiny problem though is I don't know how to get it off and the internet as a whole seems to have nothing on ever on removing them. So how do I get it off without damaging it?

Also if anyone knows how to get the paint off that would be great. I don't really mind it too much as its going to be a tool I'm using but I would like to get it back into the original condition as much as possible.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
For the paint, get you some citrustrip. It's a crap paint stripper, but it's gentle enough to only take off the spray pain without harming the original finish (probably).

To get the threaded stud out of the old from, get you 2 nuts that fit the thread on the stud. Screw in the first nut, then the second, then tighten the 2 nuts against each other, then use the nuts to unscrew the thread. Do the same to install the atud in the new planes frog

#7 ·