Woodworking Talk banner

Hand plane technique issues?

2K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  JDWoodworks 
#1 ·
Hi folks, first post here! I'm new to woodworking and i'm finally taking a stab at my first project, a cutting board. I'm currently trying to plane down my pieces of wood so that they are nice and flat for glue-up. The problem is that every piece I have done so far ends up less flat than when I started. Yes, they are getting smooth but it seems, towards the end of the piece, there is more material being taken off. Like a downhill slope of sorts, the difference being approximately 1/16th of an inch.

Some info about what I am working with: Buck Bros. 9" plane from home depot (set-up according to a few youtube videos I watched and sharpened), 17" pieces of maple and padauk that are 1-3/4" square. I have them clamped with a black and decker work mate that is pinned against my work bench so it doesn't move everywhere.

Should I have a bigger plane for what I am doing or is this strictly a technique issue?

#2 ·
Most likely it's a technique issue. Mastering the hand plane is one of the harder things to do in woodworking.
Set your plane to remove a shaving so thin you can almost see through it.
Use a pencil to mark the high spots or low spots. Only plane the high spots.
Turn your plane at a slight angle and plane with the grain.
Good luck.

#3 · (Edited)
I started with those buck bros planes as well. I tuned them up as well as i could and they worked ok, but it wasnt until i bought a few nicer planes that i understood what was really possible with hand planes. Woodriver makes decent affordable planes. If you plan to use them alot its well worth the investment.